War3FT causing HLDS to crash

Read log files for errors! If this fails, come here for help

Moderator: Forum Moderator

Post Reply
whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

War3FT causing HLDS to crash

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:39 am

War3ft Version: 3.0
Amxmodx Version: 1.76c
Metamod Version: latest
amxx list: Cant run my server
amxx modules: Cant run my server
meta list: Cant... well you know

I got 3.0 now, but when I try and run my server:
HLDS critical error blahblahblah and needs to be shut down
BUT when I disable War3FT it just works fine...

-------------
Plugins.ini
-------------
; AMX Mod X plugins

; Admin Base - Always one has to be activated
admin.amxx ; admin base (required for any admin-related)
;admin_sql.amxx ; admin base - SQL version (comment admin.amxx)

; Basic
admincmd.amxx ; basic admin console commands
adminhelp.amxx ; help command for admin console commands
adminslots.amxx ; slot reservation
multilingual.amxx ; Multi-Lingual management

; Menus
menufront.amxx ; front-end for admin menus
cmdmenu.amxx ; command menu (speech, settings)
plmenu.amxx ; players menu (kick, ban, client cmds.)
;telemenu.amxx ; teleport menu (Fun Module required!)
mapsmenu.amxx ; maps menu (vote, changelevel)

; Chat / Messages
adminchat.amxx ; console chat commands
antiflood.amxx ; prevent clients from chat-flooding the server
scrollmsg.amxx ; displays a scrolling message
imessage.amxx ; displays information messages
adminvote.amxx ; vote commands

; Map related
nextmap.amxx ; displays next map in mapcycle
mapchooser.amxx ; allows to vote for next map
timeleft.amxx ; displays time left on map

; Configuration
pausecfg.amxx ; allows to pause and unpause some plugins
statscfg.amxx ; allows to manage stats plugins via menu and commands

; Enable to use AMX Mod plugins
;amxmod_compat.amxx ; AMX Mod backwards compatibility layer


; Custom - Add 3rd party plugins here
automatic_knife_duel.amxx debug
hook_grab.amxx debug ;OMG! hookmod! yaaay
war3ft.amxx debug
--------------
modules.ini
--------------
;;;
; To enable a module, remove the semi-colon (;) in front of its name.
; If it's not here, simply add it its name, one per line.
; You don't need to write the _amxx part or the file extension.
;;;

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
;; SQL Modules usually need to be enabled manually ;;
;; You can have any number on at a time. Use ;;
;; amx_sql_type in sql.cfg to specify the default ;;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

mysql
;sqlite

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
;; Put third party modules below here. ;;
;; You can just list their names, without the _amxx ;;
;; or file extension. ;;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;



;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
;; These modules will be auto-detected and loaded ;;
;; as needed. You do not need to enable them here ;;
;; unless you have problems. ;;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

fun
engine
;fakemeta
;geoip
;sockets
;regex
nvault
cstrike
csx



If you need any more, just post here...
Since Windows Vista doesnt support .cfg's, I renamed them .ini, I first thought that was the problem, but it isnt.
I re-downloaded it, opened all of the cfg's with Notepad (unchecked the always open with this box) and just copied and paste evrything from the ini's...

User avatar
YamiKaitou
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by YamiKaitou » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:21 am

Ummm... the renaming of them to ini files is a problem.

Here is a line of code from the admin.amxx source

Code: Select all

server_cmd("exec %s/amxx.cfg", configsDir)	// Execute main configuration file
It execs the cfg file. If the file is a cfg file, then it has to be a cfg file for the plugin to load it correctly. You only choice is to downgrade to WinXP

EDIT: I found it in the war3ft source. Here is the call for the war3ft.cfg file

Code: Select all

public _CVAR_ExecuteConfig()
{
	// Format our config file
	new szConfigFile[64];
	get_configsdir( szConfigFile, 63 );
	add( szConfigFile, 63, "/war3ft/war3FT.cfg" );

	// Make sure the config file exists!
	if ( file_exists( szConfigFile ) )
	{
		server_cmd( "exec %s", szConfigFile );
	}
	else
	{
		log_amx( "[ERROR] Config file '%s' missing!", szConfigFile );
		set_fail_state( "Config file is missing, unable to load plugin" );
	}
}
If it can't find the file names war3FT.cfg, it does not load the plugin
Last edited by YamiKaitou on Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

No support via PM or Email

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:24 am

I already opened them with Notepad (not always open with Notepas option) and edited it there... its still a cfg file, so it shouldnt be a problem.

New info: I checked the map logs
L 02/09/2007 - 17:35:01: Info (map "cs_estate") (logfile "error_020907.log")
L 02/09/2007 - 17:35:01: [AMXX] Plugin ("war3ft.amxx") is setting itself as failed.
L 02/09/2007 - 17:35:01: [AMXX] Plugin says: A required file is missing, unable to load plugin

User avatar
YamiKaitou
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by YamiKaitou » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:25 am

YamiKaitou wrote:EDIT: I found it in the war3ft source. Here is the call for the war3ft.cfg file

Code: Select all

public _CVAR_ExecuteConfig()
{
	// Format our config file
	new szConfigFile[64];
	get_configsdir( szConfigFile, 63 );
	add( szConfigFile, 63, "/war3ft/war3FT.cfg" );

	// Make sure the config file exists!
	if ( file_exists( szConfigFile ) )
	{
		server_cmd( "exec %s", szConfigFile );
	}
	else
	{
		log_amx( "[ERROR] Config file '%s' missing!", szConfigFile );
		set_fail_state( "Config file is missing, unable to load plugin" );
	}
}
If it can't find the file names war3FT.cfg, it does not load the plugin
Just made an edit
Image

No support via PM or Email

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:30 am

I checked another log:
Cannot find wc3.css


Where does it go? I downloaded it

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:31 am

Btw, cant you just edit it so it will open .ini?

User avatar
YamiKaitou
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by YamiKaitou » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:36 am

it goes in your base folder. The folder with your server.cfg and your liblist.gam files.

You may be able to edit it, but then you would also have to edit all of the amxx plugins as well. Cause, if you don't have the amxx.cfg file, if won't load any settings that you place in there. It won't stop the server, it just won't load them.

Vista is stupid
Image

No support via PM or Email

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:42 am

YamiKaitou wrote:.

Vista is stupid
*cough*agree*cough*

It still doesnt work... :(

I can post a binary log...[/small]

User avatar
YamiKaitou
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by YamiKaitou » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:44 am

What error are you recieving now? Look in the amxx log report, not the error_??????.log report.

Then why do you use it?
Image

No support via PM or Email

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:46 am

I didnt install it, my brother did...

Missing Sound file, I now know where to look 8)

mexykanu
Rifleman
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:06 am

Post by mexykanu » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:46 am

Since Windows Vista doesnt support .cfg's
WHATTTTTTTTTT ????? !?!?!?!?!?!

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:47 am

Lol spam? Whats your point?

User avatar
YamiKaitou
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by YamiKaitou » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:49 am

Then hurt him. If it is your computer, why does he touch it?

What sound file? They should be located in your sound/warcraft3/ if I am not mistaken
Image

No support via PM or Email

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:51 am

I know, sound and sprite files from 2.3.2 . It works 100% now, thanks for all your help YamiKaitou

mexykanu
Rifleman
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:06 am

Post by mexykanu » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:56 am

offtopic: sorry, i didn't think about it :mrgreen:

User avatar
kevlartester
Militia
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by kevlartester » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:23 pm

just to be sure....the crash wasnt caused by the "missing compatibility" of wc3ft mod and vista but of the missing sound/sprite files....am i right?
just want to know that for the future...
Image

User avatar
YamiKaitou
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1925
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by YamiKaitou » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:28 pm

It was caused by not having the required files. I still wouldn't recomend using Vista until VALVe updates their end for it. Who knows what effects Vista will have on HLDS
Image

No support via PM or Email

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:44 pm

Well, it crashes as soon as someone joins. But I have another server and that has Windows Server 2003 installed on it :)

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:45 pm

kevlartester wrote:just to be sure....the crash wasnt caused by the "missing compatibility" of wc3ft mod and vista but of the missing sound/sprite files....am i right?
just want to know that for the future...
Yep, CS, HL, DOD and Ricochet work fine

User avatar
Geesu
<b>King of the world!</b>
Posts: 3159
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Geesu » Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:05 pm

binary logging... check the sticky
No Support via PM

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:04 am

binary logging... check the sticky
I know, I read it, but I missed step 2 :P

anders_dog
Militia
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:23 pm

Post by anders_dog » Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:12 pm

mexykanu wrote:
Since Windows Vista doesnt support .cfg's
WHATTTTTTTTTT ????? !?!?!?!?!?!
TBH, that wasn't spam. I find it bizarre that you would randomly rename all the files in a plugin, and a mod, and expect it to just 'work'. Then, post a bug report about it?!?!?!!

What do you mean Vista doesn't support .cfg files? You mean double clicking them doesn't open up notepad by default? Work out a way to do it, that's not the plugin's fault.

If you seriously cannot use .cfg files in Vista -- and I've found no evidence to back that up even after several web searches, but please feel free to correct me with a link -- then you're going to be well and truly hosed when it comes to steam, hlds, cstrike, amxmodx, and probably every even semi-large application that involves config files. If you can play CS on Vista then there are no problems with cfg files, because, newsflash, CS uses cfg files for all sorts of stuff too.

TBH, I'm with mexy on this one.

You should go back and install amxx and wc3ft with the files supplied and try it before randomly messing about with file extensions and filing bug reports.

User avatar
kevlartester
Militia
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by kevlartester » Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:14 am

thats exactly why i asked my question....cause i coulnd't believe that vista does not support all the files XP does or at least cannot handle with them....
thank you anders_dog ;)
Image

anders_dog
Militia
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:23 pm

Post by anders_dog » Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:35 pm

Yea, missing sprites, sounds, etc, will stuff up hlds pretty hard. :) Odd how it doesn't seem anywhere near as picky about missing textures, but... w/e.

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:30 am

anders_dog wrote:
mexykanu wrote:
Since Windows Vista doesnt support .cfg's
WHATTTTTTTTTT ????? !?!?!?!?!?!
TBH, that wasn't spam. I find it bizarre that you would randomly rename all the files in a plugin, and a mod, and expect it to just 'work'. Then, post a bug report about it?!?!?!!

What do you mean Vista doesn't support .cfg files? You mean double clicking them doesn't open up notepad by default? Work out a way to do it, that's not the plugin's fault.

If you seriously cannot use .cfg files in Vista -- and I've found no evidence to back that up even after several web searches, but please feel free to correct me with a link -- then you're going to be well and truly hosed when it comes to steam, hlds, cstrike, amxmodx, and probably every even semi-large application that involves config files. If you can play CS on Vista then there are no problems with cfg files, because, newsflash, CS uses cfg files for all sorts of stuff too.

TBH, I'm with mexy on this one.

You should go back and install amxx and wc3ft with the files supplied and try it before randomly messing about with file extensions and filing bug reports.
Vista doesnt see .cfg's as configure files, yes, I can open them with NotePad but I didnt think of that in the time. + CS can open .cfg's even if I cant. You cant open a NotePad file of over 1 GB, it will cause your Windows to crash. Steam can though. And I didnt randomly mess with it, I know what I'm doing. I'm just a newb in CS servers, I played CS for more than 4 years (HAD it for more than 4 years, didnt play that long)

Btw, WHAAATTTTTTTT ?!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!!!????????????
IS classed as spam, it's just how admins or mods think.

anders_dog
Militia
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 5:23 pm

Post by anders_dog » Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:07 pm

Please point me in the general direction of that 1GB wc3 or hlds config file.

Do yourself a favour, and install notepad++ -- it's free, tabbed, and has syntax highlighting. XP doesn't "see" .cfg files as config files either, you need to associate it with a program before double-clicking them opens it up. The only difference here is that you're dealing with a fresh system install, so those file associations aren't in place.

Just go back and use the default install for wc3ft and see if there are any errors. From the above it looks like it was all resolved by making sure your sounds and sprites etc were in the correct directories.

whitefang
Peon
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:08 am

Post by whitefang » Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:32 am

Please point me in the general direction of that 1GB wc3 or hlds config file.
It was an example :roll:

And my XP did

Post Reply